Skip to content
Donate Now! Press Team Souvenirs Mt. Everest Info Sponsors Contact Home
Overview Summit Team Challenge Trek Team Daily Logs/Photos

Donate OnlinePress Room

2002 Barbara Jordan Media Award Winners Announced


Rick Perry
PO Box 12428
Austin, Texas, 78711

512-463-2000 (Voice)
512-475-3165 (TDD)

For Immediate Release
Contact: Pat Pound,
Executive Director, Governor’s Committee on People With Disabilities
512-463-5742; Dial 711 for Relay Services

AUSTIN – March 18, 2003 The Texas Governor’s Committee on People with Disabilities will honor the 2002 Barbara Jordan Media Award recipients at 8 p.m. Thursday, April 24, at The Westin Riverwalk in San Antonio.

For a list of award winners, visit the governor’s web site. The site provides information about winners from Amarillo, Arlington, Austin, Brazoria, Dallas, Duncanville, Fort Worth, LaPorte, San Antonio and New York.

“I am excited that this is the 20th anniversary of the Barbara Jordan Awards because we’ve been able to see improvement in media depiction of Texans with disabilities,” said Pat Pound, executive director of the governor’s committee.

Details are as follows:

Barbara Jordan Media Awards
Thursday, April 24
San Antonio 6:30 p.m.
The Westin Riverwalk
(Dinner will begin 7 p.m., and the award presentations will begin at 8 p.m.)

Note: For dinner reservations contact Lonna or Kathi Ayers, Alamo Area Accessibility Partnership, at 210-666-2123, dial 711 for Relay Services, or e-mail

About the Barbara Jordan Awards:

Since 1982 the awards have recognized media professionals and others for accurately and progressively portraying Texans with disabilities. The awards are named for former Congresswoman Barbara Jordan, one of Texas’ most distinguished citizens and spokespersons for the rights of all people. Award categories include television, print, radio, photojournalism, advertising and special contributions by students, individuals and organizations.

About the Governor’s Committee on People with Disabilities:

The Texas Governor’s Committee on People with Disabilities consists of 12 members appointed by the governor, seven of whom must be people with disabilities. Four additional ex officio members represent state agencies. The committee promotes compliance with disability laws, recommends policy changes and supports local committees with similar purposes.

Media Kit and Photos available

Team Everest Contact:
Gary Guller
Expedition Leader
(512) 407-8314